Translation and marketing of an eCommerce website

Francisation Lee Valley Tools Case Study

Lee Valley Tools has been serving Gardeners and Woodworkers by providing unique and hard to find quality tools for 35 years. Their catalog mail order business and the 15 retail stores across Canada continue to thrive due to their exceptional customer service and never ending product line growth and diversity.

Business approach

Lee Valley has a history of pride and dedication in the development, planning and manufacturing of their tools, and the company relied on these same characteristics when developing their francophone clientele website. They went beyond translation, by building a site that creates a genuine connection with their francophone clientele, creating detailed and quality product descriptions, instructions and useful information.

How we helped

Francisation InterGlobe translated and conducted a French market adaptation of Lee Valley’s website, and helped create a distinctly French voice for the company with a tone and style that could be used in all of Lee Valley’s French language communications.

We put our expertise to work in creating a unique collection of terms and standards that will ensure consistency in all future translations.

Measuring success

Lee Valley receives regular accolades from customers who show appreciation for the high quality of the French utilized on its website and in its publications.

Client Testimonial

” We chose Francisation InterGlobe because of its passion and reputation for producing high-quality work. (…) We are thankful to Francisation InterGlobe for adding its marketing flair to our publications and for helping support our marketing objectives. We receive regular accolades from customers who show appreciation for the high quality of the French utilized on our website and in our publications. “

– The Lee Valley Tools Team

I recently came across one of Pierre Foglia’s columns, in which he mentioned that you [Francisation InterGlobe] had received the mandate to francize the Lee Valley website. I participate in a forum devoted to cabinet-making called Lamortaise.com, and collectively we are entirely grateful for the excellent work you have done in translating the various terms we use in this field. For us, Lee Valley is the source of quality cabinet- making tools. Indeed, we have in the past made mention to Mr. Robin Lee of Lee Valley of our appreciation of this initiative, since a great many of our members have little or no English. We always try to use correct French whenever possible, and our reference is often Lee Valley.

– Normand Laforce

Since we’re talking about Lee Valley, I would like to use this opportunity to underline the quality of the French documents and catalogues they produce. They came a long way since they decided not so long ago to offer to Francophones of this country the choice of reading their publications either in English or in French, and they did a tremendous job. Their reference guides contain no spelling mistakes, no syntax errors, and no terminological improprieties, and I don’t get tired of reading them. The continued efforts Lee Valley makes to maintain the quality of the French language in their written documents are truly amazing, especially since in the end, we, Quebec’s village of Gauls, represent only a small market share for them.

Lee Valley gained my respect. We are far from those bad translations, where “low-fat” becomes “low in fat people”.

Kudos!!! 😉 ”

– A Lee Valley customer

Traduction et marketing d’un site Web commercial

Francisation Lee Valley Tools Case Study

Lee Valley offre aux jardiniers et aux travailleurs du bois des outils rares ou uniques depuis plus de 35 ans. Grâce à un service à la clientèle exceptionnel et à la constante évolution de la gamme de produits, le service de vente par correspondance de Lee Valley et les 15 magasins au Canada continuent de prospérer.

Approche commerciale

Lee Valley a bâti sa réputation sur la fierté et le dévouement dont elle fait preuve dans la conception, la planification et la fabrication de ses outils. Il n’est donc pas surprenant qu’elle ait adopté la même approche en ce qui a trait à son site Web français, dont le contenu a été confié à Francisation InterGlobe. En recherchant plus qu’une simple traduction, l’entreprise a mis sur pied un site Web qui a touché une corde sensible chez les francophones grâce à des descriptions de produit détaillées, des modes d’emploi précis et de l’information pertinente sur chacun des produits.

L’apport de Francisation InterGlobe

Francisation InterGlobe a traduit et adapté le site Web de Lee Valley pour le marché francophone. Nous avons contribué à créer la voix française de l’entreprise en lui donnant un ton et un style distincts qui peuvent maintenant être employés dans toutes les communications de Lee Valley avec ses clients francophones.

Notre expertise a également été mise à profit avec la création d’un lexique propre à l’entreprise, grâce auquel Lee Valley s’assure de la constance de toutes ses traductions futures.

Les résultats

Lee Valley a reçu et continue de recevoir des éloges provenant de ses clients, qui apprécient la qualité du français utilisé sur le site Web et dans les autres publications.

Témoignage de notre client

« Nous avons choisi Francisation InterGlobe pour sa passion et la réputation qu’elle a méritée pour son travail de haute qualité. (…) Nous remercions Francisation InterGlobe d’avoir ajouté sa touche marketing à nos publications et de nous avoir soutenus dans l’atteinte de nos objectifs de marketing. Nous recevons régulièrement des commentaires élogieux de la part de clients qui expriment leur appréciation pour la haute qualité du français employé sur notre site Web et dans nos publications. »

– L’équipe de Lee Valley Tools

« J’ai appris récemment par l’intermédiaire d’une chronique de Pierre Foglia que vous aviez eu le mandat de franciser le site Internet de Lee Valley. Je fais partie d’un forum de discussion consacré à l’ébénisterie Lamortaise.com ; et nous tous sommes reconnaissants de votre excellent travail de francisation des termes reliés à ce domaine. Lee Valley est pour nous LE magasin d’outils d’ébénisterie de qualité. Nous avons d’ailleurs dans le passé fait mention à monsieur Robin Lee de Lee Valley de l’appréciation de cette initiative, car beaucoup de nos membres ne maîtrisent pas l’anglais assez bien. Nous nous efforçons d’utiliser le plus possible le français correct dans nos échanges et notre référence est souvent
Lee Valley. »

– Normand Laforce

« Je veux profiter du fait qu’on parle de Lee Valley pour souligner l’excellence du français écrit dans ses catalogues et documents dans notre langue. C’est vraiment extraordinaire le chemin parcouru depuis que Lee Valley a décidé, il y a pourtant peu d’années, d’offrir aux francophones de ce pays, le choix de la langue française ou anglaise dans ses publications. Je ne me lasse pas de lire leurs documents de référence, où on ne trouve aucune faute, ni d’orthographe, ni de syntaxe, ni d’impropriété de terminologies. C’est vraiment frappant de constater l’effort soutenu de Lee Valley pour soutenir la pureté de la langue française dans ses écrits, alors que finalement nous ne sommes qu’un tout petit marché, nous du village gaulois du Québec.
Chez Lee Valley ils ont gagné mon respect. On est loin du genre « Low Fat » traduit par « Faible en gros »

Chapeau !!! 😉 »

– Un client de Lee Valley