Canadian retail business that ventured into the Quebec market

Francisation Mountain Equipment Co-op Case Study

Mountain Equipment Co-op (MEC) is the largest retail co-operative in Canada, and a retail leader in social and environmental responsibility. With stores in 15 Canadian cities, MEC is Canada’s largest supplier of outdoor equipment. In Quebec, MEC operates three stores, including Montreal, Longueil and Quebec City. www.mec.ca is also a fully bilingual e-commerce website.

Business challenge

As MEC started preparing for its Quebec entry in 2003, the co-operative opted to view Quebec’s complex language and cultural landscape as an opportunity, rather than a barrier. With the support of the team at Francisation InterGlobe (then employees of MEC), the co-operative dedicated significant resources to adapting its communications to reflect Quebec culture and to emphasize the common values shared between MEC and its future Quebec clientele.

Linguistic Marketing Strategy

Francisation InterGlobe’s Louise Arbique and Marc Blais counseled and supported MEC in the development of a positive relationship with the Quebec Office of the French Language (OQLF) and with negotiations ensuring that they conformed to relevant Charter requirements. They advised the co-operative as to the precise French language or bilingual strategies to be used in Quebec stores and other French-speaking areas throughout Canada. They also prepared a linguistic marketing strategy that leveraged MEC’s French language investment as a promotional opportunity. That strategy differentiated MEC from its competitors by emphasizing the importance it places on the use of French.

Measuring success

Less than two years after its arrival in Quebec, MEC’s sales surpassed those of the local Quebec-based retailer, its main rival. Within four years, MEC grew from 75,000 to 350,000 members in the province. MEC received a number of prestigious awards for the quality of its French-language materials and earned significant media coverage for those efforts valued at well over $1 million dollars.

Client Testimonial

“The input and counsel from Louise Arbique and Marc Blais provided a significant contribution to Mountain Equipment Co-op’s arrival in Quebec. Their deep knowledge of Quebec and Quebecers helped create a strong connection to MEC while ensuring a quality of French above and beyond expectations. And, as indicated by a member of the Quebec government, Francisation InterGlobe helped Mountain Equipment Co-op become the most Quebecois of English Canadian companies. As a result, the number of members in Quebec grew quickly along with their sense of belonging to the cooperative.”

Patrick Tremblay, Store Group Manager, Mountain Equipment Co-op










Mountain Equipment Co-op photos © M. Lamarre

Entreprise de détail canadienne ayant percé le marché québécois

Francisation Mountain Equipment Co-op Case Study

Mountain Equipment Co-op (MEC) est la plus grande coopérative œuvrant dans le secteur canadien du commerce de détail et l’une des chefs de file de son créneau en matière de responsabilisation sociale et environnementale. Forte de ses nombreux magasins établis dans 15 villes au Canada, elle s’impose comme le plus grand fournisseur d’équipement d’activités de grande nature au pays, avec notamment trois succursales québécoises, à Montréal, Longueuil et Québec. MEC exploite également un site Web de commerce électronique – www.mec.ca – entièrement bilingue.

Le défi de l’entreprise

Alors qu’elle préparait son entrée sur le marché québécois en 2003, la coopérative a choisi d’envisager la distinction linguistique et culturelle de ce nouvel environnement d’affaires non pas comme un obstacle, mais plutôt comme une réelle occasion. Soutenue par l’expertise de notre équipe – autrefois à l’emploi exclusif de MEC et appelée à fonder plus tard l’entreprise indépendante Francisation InterGlobe -, elle a alloué des ressources importantes à l’élaboration d’une stratégie de communication axée sur le respect de la culture québécoise et les valeurs communes partagées par MEC et sa clientèle attendue.

La stratégie de marketing linguistique

Louise Arbique et Marc Blais, maintenant membres de l’équipe de direction de Francisation InterGlobe, ont guidé puis accompagné MEC dans le cadre de ses échanges avec l’Office québécois de la langue française afin d’assurer la conformité de la coopérative aux exigences de la Charte de la langue française. Ils ont conseillé MEC en ce qui a trait au langage à employer et à la stratégie de bilinguisme à mettre en place pour le marché québécois ainsi que la clientèle francophone hors-Québec. Ils ont également élaboré une stratégie de marketing linguistique qui a su mettre à profit les efforts réalisés jusque-là par MEC pour s’adapter au contexte francophone pour en faire un puissant outil promotionnel. Cette approche inédite a permis à MEC de se démarquer avantageusement de ses concurrents en soulignant son désir concret d’embrasser le fait français.

Les résultats

Deux ans seulement après l’arrivée de MEC au Québec, ses ventes dépassaient celles de son principal concurrent local. En quatre ans, l’effectif québécois de membres MEC grimpait de 75 000 à 350 000. La coopérative a reçu de nombreux prix et récompenses pour la qualité de ses communications francophones, tout en récoltant une visibilité médiatique notoire, évaluée à plus d’un million de dollars.

Témoignage de notre client

« La collaboration de Louise Arbique et Marc Blais pour préparer l’arrivée de Mountain Equipment Co-op au Québec a été un apport majeur. Forts de leur connaissance du Québec et des Québécois, ils ont su créer un fort sentiment d’appartenance à MEC en développant une qualité de français au-delà de toute attente. Et, comme le disait un représentant du gouvernement du Québec, ils ont fait de Mountain Equipment Co-op “la plus québécoise des entreprises canadiennes-anglaises”. Rapidement, nous avons assisté à l’augmentation marquée de notre nombre de membres et les avons vus s’approprier la coopérative. »

Patrick Tremblay, directeur régional, Mountain Equipment Co-op